skip to Main Content
UNEMPLOYMENT TAXES DUE 10/31/14

UNEMPLOYMENT TAXES DUE 10/31/14

REMINDER:  UNEMPLOYMENT TAXES DUE BY OCTOBER 31ST

The Florida unemployment compensation tax (now called “reemployment tax”) for the third quarter of 2014 (for payroll paid during the months of July, August and September) is due to the state of Florida by October 31st, along with the Employer’s Quarterly Report (RT-6).  All Florida businesses with employees are responsible for paying this tax (with very limited exceptions).

The Employer’s Quarterly Report used to be called the UCT-6 but is now known as the RT-6 because the Legislature changed the name from unemployment compensation to reemployment assistance several years ago.  Only the name has changed; the content of the form is still the same.

On the RT-6 tax return, you must list all employee names and social security numbers, plus the amount of wages you paid them for the quarter.  Please remember that unemployment taxes are collected only on the first $8,000 of each employee’s wages.  So, you may not owe much tax this quarter if your employees have already reached $8,000 in wages this calendar year.

If you pay your tax by electronic funds transfer (EFT) or through the Internet, you must initiate the payment by 5:00 p.m. ET on the business day prior to October 31st for your payment to be considered timely. A late filing penalty is charged at $25 for each month or a fraction of a month that a report is late. Interest is charged at 1% per month on the unpaid tax from the
original due date until the tax is paid.

If you have 10 or more employees, you are required to file your RT-6 and pay your taxes online through the Department of Revenue’s website, unless you have received a waiver.

Whether you file by paper or electronically, you can sign up to receive a quarterly reemployment tax reminder email from the Department of Revenue at https://dor.myflorida.com/dor/list/.

NEW STATE LICENSE AVAILABLE FOR RESIDENTIAL POOL AND SPA SERVICING CONTRACTORS

The Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board has developed a new specialty license for the repair and servicing of residential swimming pools, hot tubs or spas. This new license allows contractors to repair and service residential pools, spas and hot tubs on a statewide basis.  Contractors with this new license are also allowed to contract directly with consumers for residential pool/spa servicing services.

Previously, most contractors providing such services were required to obtain the certified pool/spa servicing contractor’s license, which required experience in servicing and repair of both residential and commercial pools.  Many contractors who specialized in the repair and servicing of only residential pools, spas or hot tubes were unable to qualify for this license or were required to obtain local competency cards in each local jurisdiction. The state developed this new certified residential pool/spa servicing specialty contractor category to allow licensure of these contractors on a statewide basis.

Certified residential pool/spa servicing specialty applicants may use their experience with pool and spa repair and servicing to qualify for licensure, but they are required to pass the state certified pool/spa servicing contractors’ examination administered by the Department of Business & Professional Regulation (DBPR). For more information on taking the state examination, please call DBPR at 850-488-5952 or visit their testing website at myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/servop/testing/index.html.

NEW APP FROM DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE TO VERIFY TAX EXEMPTION CERTIFICATES

Businesses that register with the Florida Department of Revenue to collect the state sales tax are sent an Annual Resale Certificate each year, which allows businesses to buy or rent property or services tax-free, if the business is then going to re-sell or re-rent those purchases or rentals as part of their business.

Examples of these types of tax-free sales include:

  • A business buys items that then become a component part of a product the business sells (Example: a business buys nails, fabric, and wood that are then incorporated into a chair made by the business).
  • A business pays for services that will be resold as part of their regular business operations.
  • A business rents real or tangible personal property that will then be re-rented.

Resale certificates cannot be used to make tax-exempt purchases or rentals of property or services that will be:

  • Used in a business but not resold or re-rented.
  • Used before selling or renting the goods.
  • Used by a business or for personal purposes (Example: furniture, office equipment, computers, or office supplies).

Each time you buy or rent property or services that you intend to resell or re-rent as part of your business, the seller should ask for a signed copy of your resale certificate.

Likewise, if someone buys or rents something from your business, and the transaction is tax-free because that business intends to re-sell or re-rent it, you should get a copy of their Annual Resale Certificate.

The Florida Department of Revenue (DOR) has released a new app for Apple, Android and Windows devices that will allow businesses to make sure their customers’ resale certificates are valid before making the sale.  With DOR’s new app, you no longer have to get hard copies of your customers’ certificates; you can enter a customer’s Florida sales tax or tax exemption certificate number, and the system will verify it for you. You will receive a response with a transaction authorization number if the certificate is valid, or a message if it is not valid.

The app also allows you to store a history record which includes customers’ names, certificate numbers, date and time verified, verification response and the transaction authorization code. You can also email the history report from within the app to keep for your permanent business records.

For more information on this new app, please visit the Department of Revenue’s website at https://dor.myflorida.com/dor/mobile/. To download the app, go to your device’s app store.  For more information in general on tax-exempt business purchases, visit DOR’s website at https://dor.myflorida.com/dor/taxes/annual_resale_certificate_sut.html.

shares
Back To Top